Arkansas Volunteer Fire Departments Receive Wildland Fire Suppression Kits from Arkansas Department of Agriculture’s Forestry Division

, , Comments Off on Arkansas Volunteer Fire Departments Receive Wildland Fire Suppression Kits from Arkansas Department of Agriculture’s Forestry Division

The Rural Fire Protection Program (RFP), managed by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture’s Forestry Division, is awarding 87 wildland fire suppression kits to rural fire departments across 46 counties in Arkansas. The RFP received $303,904.30 through the Volunteer Fire Assistance Grant from the United States Forest Service to purchase the kits.

Volunteer fire departments are the primary partner to Forestry Division crews in wildfire response and suppression, but they are often in need of specialized equipment and gear necessary for safe wildfire suppression. Since 2014, more than 757 wildland fire suppression kits have been distributed to volunteer fire departments throughout the state. The necessary equipment and gear in the kits include lightweight wildfire-resistant coveralls, gloves, rakes, and leaf blowers.

Fire departments receiving kits in 2024 are listed below:

  • Portland (Ashley)
  • 101 Gamaliel (Baxter)
  • Clarkridge (Baxter)
  • Midway (Baxter)
  • Rocky Branch (Benton)
  • Holiday Island (Carroll)
  • Caddo Valley (Clark)
  • Gurdon (Clark)
  • Rison (Cleveland)
  • Emerson (Columbia)
  • Mt. Vernon (Columbia)
  • Philadelphia (Craighead)
  • Cedarville (Crawford)
  • Crawford Co. District 4 (Crawford)
  • Natural Dam (Crawford)
  • Halley (Desha)
  • Clear Creek (Drew)
  • Holland (Faulkner)
  • Liberty (Faulkner)
  • Altus (Franklin)
  • Pleasant View (Franklin)
  • Watalula (Franklin)
  • Morning Star (Garland)
  • Lafe (Greene)
  • Lono-Rolla (Hot Spring)
  • Perla (Hot Spring)
  • Rockport/Mt. Willow (Hot Spring)
  • Athens (Howard)
  • Mineral Springs (Howard)
  • Desha (Independence)
  • Floral (Independence)
  • Oxford (Izard)
  • Pineville (Izard)
  • Altheimer (Jefferson)
  • Island Harbor (Jefferson)
  • Linwood/Moscow (Jefferson)
  • Southeast Jefferson Co. (Jefferson)
  • Swan Lake (Jefferson)
  • Wabbaseka (Jefferson)
  • Hoxie (Lawrence)
  • Sedgwick (Lawrence)
  • Cornerville/County Village (Lincoln)
  • Star City (Lincoln)
  • Oak Hill (Little River)
  • Booneville City (Logan)
  • Magazine (Logan)
  • Austin (Lonoke)
  • Peel (Marion)
  • Doddridge (Miller)
  • Bright Star (Miller)
  • Etowah (Mississippi)
  • Clarendon (Monroe)
  • Maddox Bay (Monroe)
  • Two Bayou (Ouachita)
  • Harris Brake (Perry)
  • Perry (Perry)
  • Antoine City (Pike)
  • Nathan (Pike)
  • Dallas Valley (Polk)
  • Appleton (Pope)
  • Bayliss (Pope)
  • Dover City (Pope)
  • Dover Rural (Pope)
  • Martin Township (Pope)
  • Arch Street (Pulaski)
  • Crystal (Pulaski)
  • Runyan Acres (Pulaski)
  • Scott (Pulaski)
  • Sweet Home (Pulaski)
  • Turtle Creek (Saline)
  • Boles (Scott)
  • Highway 250 (Scott)
  • Leslie (Searcy)
  • Witts Springs (Searcy)
  • Hartford (Sebastian)
  • White Bluff Rye Hill (Sebastian)
  • Cave City (Sharp)
  • Caldwell (St. Francis)
  • 6th District (Stone)
  • Mountain View (Stone)
  • Hutting (Union)
  • Junction City (Union)
  • Pangburn (White)
  • Augusta (Woodruff)
  • McCrory (Woodruff)
  • Plainview (Yell)
  • Rover (Yell)
Volunteer fire departments interested in participating in the program must submit an application to the RFP. The applications are scored according to specific criteria including fire district population, the size of the response area, wildfire equipment response needs, and other factors. The next application period is expected to begin in August 2024.

Fire departments should receive an application by mail, or they can be found at /forestry/rural-fire-protection-program/ when the application period opens. For more information, fire departments should contact Kathryn Mahan-Hooten at or (501) 679-3183.

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture, forestry, and natural resources conservation to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while sustaining natural resources and ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit The Arkansas Department of Agriculture offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability and is an Equal Opportunity Employer.
Heather Pedersen

Heather Pedersen (92)

“Love is never wasted, for its value does not rest upon reciprocity.” -C.S. Lewis